Build IT

Build IT is an after school and summer
youth-based curriculum for under served middle school girls to
develop information technology (IT) fluency, interest in mathematics,
and knowledge of IT careers.  In Unit 5 of the curriculum,
Collaborative Game Design and Troubleshooting, the girls use
Stagecast Creator to learn IT skills such as object-oriented
programming, collaboration, and leadership in teams.

The Build IT materials, developed and co-owned by SRI International
and Girls Incorporated of Alameda County (Girls Inc.), are available
to educators and youth development facilitators.  Build IT was
supported by funds from the National Science Foundation and the Noyce

Python Tutorials for Kids 8+

“Just a dad writing some tutes for his son to learn Python and happy to share.
These tutorials assume you’ve got access to a python interpreter – see the Getting Started Tab.
Each of these tutorials is intended to last for 10-15 minutes. They are not intended to give an exhaustive look at every (or any) particular aspect of Python. Rather, the intention is to give you a working baseline from which you can go out and do your own work. Always remember the Python documentation or Google if you have a question.”

ACM/CSTA Model Curriculum for K-12 Computer Science

Since it was first released in 2003, the ACM/CSTA Model Curriculum for K-12 Computer Science has served as the national standards for pre-college computer science education. This year, CSTA formed a committee of specialists (co-chaired by Allen Tucker and Deborah Seehorn) from all educational levels to review and revise these standards.

Based on the following definition of computer science:

Computer science is the study of computers and algorithmic processes, including their principles, their hardware and software designs, their applications, and their impact on society and includes the following elements:
• programming,
• hardware design,
• networks,
• graphics,
• databases and information retrieval,
• computer security,
• software design,
• programming languages,
• logic,
• programming paradigms,
• translation between levels of abstraction,
• artificial intelligence,
• the limits of computation (what computers can’t do),
• applications in information technology and information systems, and
• social issues (Internet security, privacy, intellectual property, etc.).

The K-12 Computer Science Standards provide learning outcomes for students in grade K through 12. These learning outcomes are divided into three levels:
• Level 1 (grades K–6) Computer Science and Me
• Level 2 (grades 6–9) Computer Science and Community
• Level 3 (grades 9–12) Applying concepts and creating real-world solutions
o Level 3A: (grades 9 or 10) Computer Science in the Modern World
o Level 3B: (grades 10 or 11) Computer Science Principles
o Level 3C: (grades 11 or 12) Topics in Computer Science

The learning outcomes within each level are organized into the following strands:
• Computational Thinking
• Collaboration
• Computing Practice
• Computers and Communications Devices
• Community, Global, and Ethical Impacts

CSTA invites you to review and submit comments on the review draft of the new CSTA K-12 Computer Science Learning Standards: Revised 2011. A copy of the document is available for download at:

This site also provides access to an online form that will be used to collect all reader comments and suggestions.  The review process will be open until June 15, 2011.

Hispabrick Magazine

In this new edition you will be able to enjoy our regular features, reviews,
MINDSTORMS, LDraw, building trees…

Of particular interest to the Robotics community are the article on the walkers
by Menno Gorter, a MINDSTORMS Challenge and a photo report of the MINDSTORMS
booth at LEGOWORLD Copenhague.

There are also:

– Articles on LEGO Sports, Sphere building…

– Interviews with Mads Nipper, Christian Iversen, Menno Gorter and Alexander

– And a fantastic Star Wars™ contest.